Tags

,

Dear Maggie,

It’s very disorienting to be back on a college campus where 1. It’s raining (I’m still use to SoCal weather) 2. I have no idea what’s going on. This isn’t undergrad anymore. I haven’t lived on this campus for four years and know every building’s courtyard and twisty back hall. Apparently, as grad students we are suppose to know what we are doing. Therefore our guidance from PSU has been pretty much nonexistent.

I had “orientation” (a couple hours of talks) on Friday. Let the first-day overeager meet-and-greet dance begin! You know, the mad dash to meet everyone and make friends with everyone. It goes something like this:

HI HI HI, my name is Kelsey! I’m new too! You’re in my class! I’m NICE! I promise! I’m NOT SCARY! Will you be my FRIEND? PLEASE? PLEASE? Look! Another NEW PERSON! HI! *repeat*

Oof, it’s exhausting.

I woke up at 6:30am this morning with a weird sense of déjà vu. That’s the time I use to wake up for high school. I am none too pleased about this schedule arrangement.

Fortunately my Intro to Publishing class seems pretty sweet. Though we do learn some publishing history background, it is mostly about modern publishing. You know, actually practical and applicable information. This means: Assigned blog subscriptions, discussion through class blog posts, twitter account required.  Sounds like my kind of place!

Just for future information, the keystone to my publishing program is Ooligan Press, which is a completely student-run press. We had our first meeting today. Though all the information was overwhelming, it is amazingly cool to hear that “this is your press” and we should take it as seriously as a job. It is a real publishing house, though it may be an usual one! It was also heartening to hear from the outgoing program director that he believes this is the most exciting time to be in the industry because we can reinvent the publishing world. I tend to agree with my intro teacher in my reaction to that proposition: “Awesome. Horribly terrifying. But awesome.”

All in all, first day of Grad school? Exactly like all past first days of schools with its huge info dumps mixed with social confusion. Except for one major difference: everyone has chosen to be here.

Now I have to go do homework 😉

Love,

Kelsey

