Tags

, , , , ,

Dear Kelsey,

I don’t think our audience is large enough that anyone reading can’t easily guess the reason we stopped posting. We spent a lot of time together while I was home breaking the first rule of book club (and, oh yes, that rule is “don’t talk about book club*”), but the abundance of direct conversation and discussion has not been entirely responsible for my negligence.

I’m hopelessly booksick. I’m pining, aching, longing for another Mistborn novel and, in the manner of forlorn lovers through the centuries, am restlessly discontent, listless, and mopey. With an excess of adjectives to describe my misery.

Mistborn: The Final Empire Mistborn The Well of Ascension Hero of the Ages Box Set Cover Brandon Sanderson

I finished the series (and, with the schedule I kept during the holidays, that alone was a Christmas miracle), but now all the novels I’ve been excited to read fail to hold my interest. Articles about books or publishing or world news that fail to mention Mistborn are tossed aside in disgust.  And, invariably, every conversation ends with how much I miss Mistborn.

Now, this is not necessarily a symptom of thinking Misborn is the greatest book ever. Just because other books that made me feel this way include Harry Potter and Name of the Wind (and just because it actually IS one of the greatest books ever), correlation does not equal causation. Because, of course, the reverse is also true: not every book I love will make me booksick. While it’s true that bad or unappealing books will likely never result in booksickness (unless, I suppose, the book is so offensive that you become physically ill), feeling booksick is a lot like feeling homesick. You don’t have to love every single thing about home to miss it, nor do you have to be obsessively infatuated with the book to want to experience it anew. 

Booksickness, like heartsickness, is a temporary mental condition eased with time. It has its own rate of recovery, often accelerated by boredom or obligation. However, with a tenacious commitment to gloom and without any homework assignments, it can, as in my case now, look very much like the aftermath of a breakup: obsessively google it, read every single article and update, and ostentatiously carry OTHER books all over the house. “Oh, yeah, Mistborn, I’m doing just fine without you. Better even.”

On that note, I’m off to go listen to some power ballads that accurately represent my emotional state. 

Love,

Maggie

*Unless you’re blogging. Otherwise we would have nothing to talk about.

