Tags

, , , ,

Dear Kelsey,

Naturally, as soon as I posted my last treatise on cover treatments, I immediately found more outstanding examples I had to share. I think it’s been long enough that I can finally make this update, eh?

Foil Stamping

Aside from being a ridiculously glamorous design, the Penguin Deluxe Edition of Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre features a subtle foil glimmer over the lantern. Designed by renown fashion illustrator Ruben Toledo, this cover was enough to make me instantly buy a copy of a book I already owned. Two copies of.  

Glow in the Dark Ink

While overdoing this could quickly become garish, in Lauren Redniss’s Radioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie: A Tale of Love and Fallout, the subject matter and predominant graphic design makes it a creative choice. I’ve been struggling to make this description appropriately dignified, but I feel like I really need to emphasize that omg this is a book cover with glow in the dark ink!! 

Box Set

Okay, yes, Six Feet Under is actually an HBO series about a family-run funeral home, but the creativity of this design makes it a worthwhile exception. The simplicity of the dirt and root system highlights the hilariously ingenious fake-turf glued to the top of the box.  

Six Feet Under, Box Set, Turf, HBO, Series Design, Creative

As before, if you find any creative covers, feel free to let me know : )

Love,

Maggie Faber

