Tags

, , , , ,

Dear Kelsey,

We’re still in the process of interviewing for my former position, and I think the endless question-and-answer has started to affect my brain. I’m thinking in interview answers and—and I don’t know if I can stop. For example, this was the actual beginning of my post before I got myself under control:

Over the past year in an office, I’ve gained a clear sense of my work style and habits. I’ve learned what organizational techniques work most effectively for me, and I’ve learned which ones fall apart under stress. And I’ve learned that when I’m stressed, I tend to drop everything that is not causing me stress in order to focus on and resolve the stressful aspect of my life as quickly as possible.

Really?!  

What I intended to say is that work is absolutely crazy. I’ve been going to academic conferences and author events every weekend, the interview process is exhausting on our end as well as theirs, we’re additionally understaffed from everyone taking their summer vacation time, and next weekend I’ll be going to New Orleans for another conference—which is (needless to say) tremendously exciting, but was also dropped on me very suddenly and requires a lot of advance preparation.

And, as I indicated in my false-start beginning, when I’m stressed I tend to let my hobbies and personal correspondence lapse…entirely. I got a few snarky texts last week about being AWOL even though I had time for my blog, so I thought I would fess up. I wanted to keep up with the blog if only to exert some control over and connection with my personal life while I’m so frazzled. 

…It’s definitely not because I’m starting to think that the consistency of my posting schedule clearly demonstrates a deadline-oriented perspective in my personal as well as professional life. I take my responsibilities seriously and, as you can see, work effectively when I am self-directed and self-motivated.

Thank you for taking the time to consider my blog post,

Maggie Faber

